Virgin Most Faithful

Blessed is he who by his prayers watches by the gate of Mary, as the poor wait at the door of the rich to obtain relief. Blessed is the man, Mary says, that heareth me, and that watcheth daily at my gates.  O that we were as faithful to serve this divine Mother as she is faithful to relieve us when we pray to her! Mary promises that all who serve and honor her shall be free from sin and obtain eternal life: They that work by me shall not sin. They that explain me shall have life everlasting. She invites all to have recourse to her, and promises them every grace that they desire: In me is all grace of the way and of the truth; in me is all hope of life and of virtue; come over to me, all ye that desire me. St. Lawrence Justinian applies to Mary that other text of Ecclesiasticus, her bands are a healthful binding; and then adds, “wherefore bands, unless to bind her servants, that they may not stray in the fields of sin. Mary binds her servants, that they may not give themselves too much liberty, which would cause their ruin.

O Mother of God, in thee do I place all my confidence; thou must preserve me from falling anymore into sin. My Lady, abandon me not, obtain me the grace rather to die than to lose the grace of God.

From The Glories of Mary by St. Alphonsus de Liguori

This entry was posted in Litany and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

