Mystical Rose

Of Mary it is said in the sacred Canticles, that she was the enclosed Garden of God, My sister, my spouse, is a garden enclosed. St. Bernard writes, “that our Lord planted all the flowers which adorned the Church in this Garden; and amongst others the violet of humility, the lily of purity, and the rose of charity.” “A rose is red, and of a fiery color,” says Blessed Raymond Jordano, “which denotes love of God and our neighbor;” therefore, on account of the ardent love with which the heart of Mary was always inflamed towards God and us, she is called a rose. And where can we find an advocate who is more earnest in the affair of our salvation, or who loves us more than Mary? “We acknowledge,” says St. Augustine of her, “that one alone is solicitous for us in heaven.”

O my dear Mother, could I but love thee as thou lovest me! I will not, however, cease to do all that I can to honor and love thee. My most sweet Lady, do thou obtain for me grace to be faithful to thee.

From The Glories of Mary by St. Alphonsus de Liguori

This entry was posted in Litany and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

