Help of Christians

Mary, Help of Christians, pray for us.

St. John Camascene calls Mary “the prepared and always ready help of Christians, by which they are delivered from dangers.” The help of Mary is, as St. Cosmas of Jerusalem writes, “all-powerful to deliver us from sin and hell.” St. Bernard, addressing Mary, says, “Thou art an invincible warrior in defense of thy servants, fighting against the devils who assail them.” For this reason she is called an army in the sacred Canticles; thou art…terrible as an army set in array.”

Ah, my Queen, had I always had recourse to thee, I should never have been conquered by my enemies; henceforth thou shalt be my strength: in my temptations I will always have recourse to thee; from thee do I hope for victory.

This entry was posted in Litany and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

